Bermuda Homeschooler

Things to do, places to see, how to keep your child interested and eager to learn. The joys and tears of educating your own in the world.

Homeschooling, what’s that?

Posted by bermudahomeschooler on January 30, 2006

First of all, let me say that I hate the term homeschooling, because for the masses that means doing school at home. If I liked school so much, I would send my children there. I’m definitely not going to recreate that environment in my home.

Instead, I like to look at it as a process of instilling a joy of learning in my children. The difficult part is not the instillation but rather keeping it joyful. It is hard to drop the comparative mind, that is, how is my child doing compared to others in school? Are we ahead, or behind? And what do those terms mean: ahead of what or whom, behind what or whom?

Because the world wants to call this process something and we are loathe to say homeschooling, because a majority of the learning happens outside of the home, and the majority of it is not given in a school like setting, we have decided to call our process a learning lab.

From dictionary.com

learn·ing Audio pronunciation of ( P ) Pronunciation Key n.

  1. The act, process, or experience of gaining knowledge or skill.
  2. Knowledge or skill gained through schooling or study. See Synonyms at knowledge.
  3. Psychology. Behavioral modification especially through experience or conditioning.

Lab short for lab·o·ra·to·ry Audio pronunciation of ( P ) Pronunciation Key n. pl. lab·o·ra·to·riesI’m sticking with definition no. 3 here:
3. A place for practice, observation, or testing.

I’m sticking with definition no. 3 here:3. A place for practice, observation, or testing.And as for place used above, I’m extending it to include the world that we live in. A far more expansive place than a school classroom or science lab.

Above all, I would say that it is journey. One in which we can stop and slow down where needed or where there is high interest. There is no destination save the acquisition of knowledge of self and of the world.

2 Responses to “Homeschooling, what’s that?”

  1. Ariella said

    I am looking for other parents in bermuda who are homeschooling if there is anyone out there I would love to hear from you
    ariella@northrock.bm

    Thanks

  2. ariella said

    Hi Its ariella again I am on the verge of taking my son out of school for the coming year

    Do you have meeting scgedule or an email list I can join?

    Thanks alot for your help
    ariella
    236 1114

Leave a Reply

 
